Try and Learn to Not Say ‘Try and’

Typebars in a 1920s typewriter

Language Lessons. ... Image via Wikipedia

Being a full-time writer/editor (it’s my day job as well as my hobby), I see a lot of writing mistakes, including certain ones that get repeated over and over. As often as I can, I’ll be pointing them out here on my blog, under the category “Language Lessons”—consider it part of my small contribution to improving the culture of language in our society.

My first lesson, students, concerns a certain phrase that I don’t remember hearing or reading until the last couple of years but which has, unfortunately, exploded into use. Check out the following sentence:

I’ll try and remember to stop by the grocery store on the way home from work.

Really? You’re going to try and remember? No, no, no. You’ll try to remember. Likewise, you won’t try and forget what that mean person said about you, you’ll try to forget what he said about you.

Honestly, I don’t know where or how this started, but we all need to try and to make it stop.

Class dismissed. =)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. PopPop
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 15:32:57

    How about a class on “Let’s get off the car, or when we get off the car”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

