The Rainbow: God’s Property

Landscape with Noah's Thank Offering (painting...

The real story of the rainbow. ... Image via Wikipedia

Of all the troubling facets of the pro-homosexual movement, one of the most disturbing to me is its co-opting of the rainbow.

For those who aren’t aware, Genesis 9 details the origin of the rainbow: After the yearlong Flood that destroyed nearly all life on Earth, God created the rainbow and displayed it to Noah and his family as a physical sign of a covenant in which God promised to never again destroy the Earth by flood. Thus, the rainbow is a symbol of real hope—hope in God, the Eternal One, who never goes back on His word. In fact, not only is the rainbow God’s handiwork, but He took personal ownership of it even as he was offering it up as a sign to us: “And God said, ‘This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.’ So God said to Noah, ‘This is the sign of the covenant I have established between me and all life on the earth.’ ” (Genesis 9:12-17, New King James Version; italics mine)

Somehow, sometime, however, the pro-homosexual movement commandeered the rainbow for its own twisted purposes, packaging it as the “rainbow flag” seen at rallies and on bumper stickers. Members of this movement will say that they chose the rainbow as a symbol of diversity; of course, they’re referring to sexual diversity, but I fail to see what a range of colors has to do with sexual orientation. In fact, if any movement were to logically connect with the rainbow, it would be the civil rights movement, which correctly proclaimed that people of all colors should be treated equally. Perhaps this is just another absurd attempt to equate the pro-homosexual movement with the civil rights movement—two entities that have little in common. But I digress.

Of course, plenty of people don’t believe in the Bible, including most homosexuals, so I guess I can’t expect them to really go for my argument, but I nonetheless think it’s important for everyone to know about the true origin of the rainbow, and why its use by the pro-homosexual movement bothers Christians such as myself, and why I’m fighting this fight. So there it is: the rainbow: God’s property.

Leave a Reply

