Mormons Refuse to Give Straight Answers

Salt Lake Temple in Salt Lake City, Utah, USA....

The Mormon Temple in Salt Lake City, Utah. ... (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A friend of my wife recently converted to Mormonism, which has inspired my wife to do a lot of digging into what is officially known as “The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.” I’ve also done a lot of research into Mormonism over the years, since I used to be close to some Mormons and also have a strong interest in defending the Christian faith. We already knew about many strange Mormon doctrines, but what we’ve uncovered recently is that Mormons seem pretty intent on diverting attention from these bizarre beliefs … at least, until they have you hooked.

There’s one particular pro-Mormon website that encourages readers to ask questions about the Mormon church, so my wife asked several. She got a few answers, but regarding her most important question—Don’t Mormons believe that God was once just a man like you or I? And how can you believe that?—all she got was the runaround.

So my wife moved on to the official website of the Mormon church, where you can chat live with a Mormon missionary. She did so, and asked the same question. The missionary at first gave only rote answers, almost like he was copying and pasting from an official Mormon document, and these answers totally avoided the question. So my wife continued to press the question: Isn’t it correct that Mormons believe the doctrine “As man is, God once was; as God is, man may become”? What followed were more attempts at evasion, but my wife refused to give up, and finally the missionary admitted that those words “might have been said” by one particular man in the Mormon church’s history.

Only it wasn’t just “one man”: The exact phrase I quoted above came from the mouth of Lorenzo Snow, the fifth president of the Mormon church … who based his utterance on the teaching of Mormon founder Joseph Smith. Smith was quite explicit in professing this doctrine, stating the following:

“God himself was once as we are now, and is an exalted Man, and sits enthroned in yonder heavens.” (Journal of Discourses)

People can progress “from one small degree to another, and from a small capacity to a great one; from grace to grace, from exaltation to exaltation … until (they) arrive at the station of a God.” (Teachings of the Prophet Joseph Smith)

“You have got to learn to become Gods yourselves, and to be kings and priests to God the same as all Gods before you have done.” (Journal of Discourses and Teachings of the Prophet Joseph Smith)

Yet Mormons don’t want to admit to this to any outsiders. Why not? I maintain that it’s because this doctrine, along with so many other Mormon doctrines, is so far out there as to be off-putting to the average person, and Mormonism cannot win converts by speaking of these things clearly and publicly.

I’m a Christian, and I’m willing to speak about any of my beliefs, openly and honestly, to the best of my ability. If you ask me something that I have difficulty answering, it’s only because I haven’t researched that particular topic enough—so I’ll go research it and then bring you an answer. Mormons, though, duck their own doctrines, in order to appear “mainstream” and “Christian”—but they’re neither. I know non-Mormons who have Mormon relatives, and these non-Mormons say that their Mormon relatives don’t like to talk about these issues. Because Mormons know how weird their own stuff sounds! And even as I write this, my wife is on yet another pro-Mormon website, chatting with yet another Mormon who won’t answer her question.

These are just more signs that Mormonism is not only a man-made belief system but a cult—not that I needed any more proof after two of my Mormon friends got married and I wasn’t allowed at their weddings, because I’m not a Mormon. Can’t get much more cultish than that.

The real tragedy taking place here, however, is of a personal, eternal nature. How many Mormons are there in the world? Millions—millions who are heading towards a dark and depressing eternity. My wife really wanted to be wrong about Mormonism—it’s been heartbreaking for her to discover that someone she loves has been deceived. I feel the same way. These are weighty matters, with souls at stake—Mormons should at least be honest about what they believe.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jared
    Apr 14, 2012 @ 08:50:02

    Dear Mr. Drexler,

    I first stumbled upon your blog when an article you wrote about “speaking Mainish” caught my eye. I was amused so I read other blogs that you had written under your Language Lesson section. Language and its particular uses always fascinate me, so I enjoy when I find like-minded people. My particular obsession is with the unnecessary use of abbreviations. However that’s not why I’m writing you today.

    I suppose I could have left this comment on any number of different blogs you have written but this one is as good as any. I’m not here to defend the Mormon faith but I do want to challenge your delivery of critique. When I first started reading your blogs I felt like I had discovered a precious gem and was pleased to indulge my inner geek if only for a few moments. Like a child eagerly unwrapping his gifts on Christmas, I read one after another of your blogs (fully recognizing my own guilt in certain language, grammar, and writing gaffes at some point in my life). However, as I greedily devoured posts from your other sections (mainly from Columns because the tittles intrigued me) this thing, which I revered as a gift, has quickly become a very painful thorn in my side. I don’t normally comment on blogs such as these but I decided to break with tradition in the hopes that I will do some good. Chief of my concerns, is the apparent lack of sensitivity and respect you have for those who have differing beliefs. You come across not as confident in your beliefs but as arrogant and condescending. Though I agree with some of the things you say, for the most part our beliefs differ greatly, but I respect your right to hold the opinions that you do. I can disagree with your Christian beliefs without trampling on your dignity. The way you speak of Mormons, Atheist, Muslims, Liberals etc. does not encourage real intellectual conversation (except perhaps from more people like yourself) but rather it marginalizes and constricts open, free thought. Telling your reader what you don’t like about a particular belief system, religion, or religious leader doesn’t prove to me any premises based on the questioning truth of any of these things. Further more, not once have I seen you apply the same scrutiny to your own religious faith/heritage/tradition. Again I’m not here to defend the Mormon faith but since you are so keen to shed light on the actions, motives, and conduct of Joseph Smith, why not do the same for your own religious heritage?

    I won’t presume to know you but I don’t think I would be reaching to say that you are an evangelical, protestant Christian. I gather from certain links on your blog that you belong to a Presbyterian church. Presbyterians adhere to the Calvinist theological tradition within Protestantism. However while Calvin is a hero to many of his followers he is remembered by others for his cruelty to anyone whose views threatened his own. Blasphemers and Heretics! Under Calvin’s reign many people where sentenced to death, most famously Michael Servetus, a Spanish theologian, physician, cartographer, and humanist. Calvin’s biggest issue with Servetus was that he held a Non-Trinitarian Christology. Calvin’s solution? Have him killed! Servetus was burned at the stake on October 27th 1553. Now I ask you, is this how you believe people should handle disputes? Is this a practice that Jason Drexler engages in today? I could be wrong but I’m guessing not. Should I judge all Presbyterians by the actions of Calvin? Shall I find nothing redeemable about Calvinist theology just because Calvin was so clearly misled in some of his beliefs? Does my not liking this prove that all his beliefs are wrong?

    I’ve spoken to at least a dozen Presbyterians (most of them leaders in the church) discussing the doctrine of predestination. I have been told on numerous occasions that the doctrine of predestination is not something to be discussed with “non-believers”. I’ve even been told that the doctrine is an embarrassing part of church history that is often misunderstood. Shall I assume that because I can’t get a straight answer from some Presbyterians, that I will not be able to get a straight answer from ALL Presbyterians? Shall I assume that just because Presbyterian roots are founded in the doctrine of predestination that those views cannot grow and change? Their views on slavery and the ordination of women certainly did.

    You see Mr. Drexler, even if I wanted to engage you intellectually why would I ever subject myself to your game play? For as many valid points as you bring up, you commit at least twice as many logical fallacies, usually in the form of faulty generalizations, appeal to ridicule, straw manning and poisoning the well. Perhaps you are trying to save some of the readers of your blog from damnation through your smug, self-righteous, and sarcastic rhetoric. Would it not be better to lead by example? So I ask you, when will you show us the love of Christ?

    Respectfully,

    Jared

    Reply

  2. article
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 09:49:25

    Greetings I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Google for something else, Anyhow I am here now and
    would just like to say thanks a lot for a tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

    Reply

  3. Carl
    Sep 20, 2016 @ 11:01:30

    Thanks so much for this simple yet very right on cue explanation it’s exactly what I needed not all of this complex elaborate run arounds that only confuses and cover the big TRUTH.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

