A Thing Greatly Feared, Postlude

Phi

Mr. Hallum began reading the new Gazette as he and his chauffeur cruised down Main Street. Mr. Hallum chuckled – a grim, rumbling chuckle.

“What is it, sir?” said the chauffeur.

“I love seeing my victories in print: My competition elimina

ted, his sheriff put in

prison, the land soon to be mine. My plan worked perfectly.”

“Just like you said it would, sir.”

The black chuckle rolled again as Mr. Hallum folded the paper and set it next to the large, shadowy, orange-eyed creature beside him.

“Yes. Just like I said it would.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rainbowheartlove
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 04:21:14

    what an end! Are you going to explain that one to us?

    Reply

    • jasondrexler
      Apr 24, 2012 @ 07:37:17

      It will be explained, but the explanation will be incremental, and over a longer period of time. Before I began posting A Thing Greatly Feared, I published a short post titled “Unveiling a New Universe,” introducing a literary world of separate but connected stories. So far I’ve unveiled A Thing Greatly Feared (the first novel in the cycle) and a short story called Lonely Boy. Each subsequent novel will reveal a bit more about this universe of mine, answering some questions but raising others. I’m still deciding which novel I’ll post next, but I thank you for your interest, and I hope you’ll be here to enjoy the next chapter in The Unveiling!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

